Dr. Xiaoyun Wang



Tsinghua University China

Xiaoyun Wang is the C. N. Yang Professor in Institute for Advanced Study, Tsinghua University. She is recognized for her essential contributions to the cryptanalysis and design of cryptographic hash functions and the contributions to lattice-based cryptography that is the primary area of post-quantum cryptography, i.e. quantum-resistant cryptography.

Xiaoyun Wang obtained her PhD at Shandong University in 1993 and worked as a faculty member. In 2005, she was appointed as a professor at Tsinghua University.

She had received a series of honors and awards, which include The First Prize of Chinese National Science and Technology Progress Award(2020), the IACR Test-of-Time Award (2020), the Levchin Prize for Real-World Cryptography (2020), the Mathematics and Computer Science Prize of Future Science Prize (2019), the Special Prize for Cryptographic Innovation of Chinese Association for Cryptologic Research (2014), the CSIAM Su Buchin Prize (2010), the 2nd Class Prize of Chinese National Natural Science Award (2008), the Tan Kah Kee Science Award (2006), and the Qiushi Outstanding Scientist Award (2006).

Xiaoyun Wang gave a 45-minute invited lecture at the International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics in 2023 and a plenary lecture at the 4th BRICS Mathematics Conference in 2021. Additionally, she was an invited speaker at several international cryptography conferences, including Asiacrypt 2023, ASIACCS 2011, Fast Software Encryption 2010, CANS 2008, and the RSA Conference 2006.

Xiaoyun Wang is a Fellow of the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR), a Fellow of The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries (TWAS), an Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences(CAS). Xiaoyun Wang is the the President of Chinese Association for Cryptologic Research(CACR) and she served as the VicePresident of the Chinese Mathematical Society for the period 2020-2023.